Dobbs Ferry, NY

Dobbs Ferry, NY

Dobbs Ferry, NY

Population: 10,949
Median home value: $554,418
Median rental price: $1,260
Median household income: $104,170
Median resident age: 41 years
% of the population with white collar jobs: 95%
% of the adult population who are college graduates: 54.24% 
% of the adult population who are high school graduates: 95.12%
% of people living below the poverty level: 3.8%
Racial Makeup / Most prominent races: 79% White, 10% Hispanic or Latino (of any race), 7% Black, 9% Asian
Residents would hang out with NYC folk from: Park Slope and the Upper West Side

Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 9.05.26 AM

Dobbs Ferry is a village in the town of Greenburgh on the Hudson River
Metro-North train from Dobbs Ferry to Grand Central Station: 34-52 minutes, depending on time of day
By car to Grand Central Station: 22 miles, or 36 minutes

________________________________________________________________________

Looking to buy a house in Dobbs Ferry? A 3 bed / 2 bath isn’t too hard to find in the $500K-$800K range.

With taxes, interest, and homeowner’s insurance, and 20% down, it’ll cost between $2,680 and $4,230 per month.

(Note: property taxes here do not include the local taxes, which could bring these numbers up $1K more per month. Oh yes. That’s $1,000 more. Per. Month. For exact numbers, ask your realtor.)

________________________________________________________________________

Looking for schools? Here’s what GreatSchools.org has to say:

SCHOOL

GREATSCHOOLS.ORG RATING

COMMUNITY RATING

 Springhurst Elementary

9/10

10/10

 Dobbs Ferry Middle School

8/10

8/10

 Dobbs Ferry High School

7/10

8/10

I’m realizing that you can tell how much I like a town by how many photos I take of it. Dobbs Ferry? Me likey.

We hired a sleep consultant recently to help with the baby’s non-sleeping routine. She lives in Dobbs Ferry. And she had only nice things to say about it. She said that the more kids they had, the more they realized it was time to leave the city. I was raised in Manhattan, and I never understood why anyone would feel the need to have a YARD in order to raise their children. I thought it was cliche and left for people who weren’t “real city people” or people who didn’t give the city the chance, or people who were small-minded and didn’t see how raising your kid in the city was the best place to do it. After all, I walked to school by myself in the 3rd Grade, and I don’t have a single memory of my parents needing to take me anywhere- I was always able to get there on my own. I still believe this fosters a great sense of strength and independence in a child. But I was being self-centered. Child-centered. Sure, a number of suburb-bound parents leave the city because they want the more quiet life for their child’s sake (my husband remembers playing in the yard and riding his bike for hours around the neighborhood and wants the same thing for our kids) but there are people like me who don’t just want it for their child. They want it for themselves too. You don’t understand CRAMPED until you have children in Manhattan- I don’t care how small your apartment is- if you don’t have kids in it, then you don’t know. When there’s egg on the floor, and toys in the kitchen, and the smell of poopy diapers in the bedroom, and not enough space in the stupid checkout lane at the supermarket for your stroller, and speaking of strollers… you’re lugging your stroller and both children up to a 3rd floor walk-up (full disclosure: I actually get to leave my stroller on the second level), and no one offers to help you with your stroller on the stairs (seriously, people?), and you have to pack everyone up with all your belongings JUST so that your kid can get some fresh air, and you want to go visit daddy at work when he invited you but you just can’t bear the idea of lugging the stroller and the two kids down into the un-air-conditioned subway so you stay at home instead, and taking the 30 minute walk 13 blocks to the bank in the middle of summer with one child strapped to your body and the other complaining in the stroller about how they don’t want to be in the stroller or how they want to be in the stroller and they’re not in the stroller will definitely leave you feeling angry and exhausted when you return and make you never want to leave the house with your children EVER AGAIN, and so on and so on… that’s when you know you’re cramped.

I want to move for me.

So back to Dobbs Ferry and all its SPACE! Okay, so Dobbs Ferry doesn’t actually have any more space than any of the other towns we’re looking at. It’s not like it’s in Siberia. Or Canada.

SONY DSC

When you drive onto Main Street in Dobbs Ferry, you see a sushi restaurant, a Celtic restaurant and the cutest little stationary and sundries shop called “Say Cheese and Thank You”. Main Street is sheltered by trees and lined with various shops, all of which I would probably patronize. There’s a frozen yogurt shop, a pub, an art gallery, a pharmacy, a few restaurants, and little make-your-own-pottery shop.

SONY DSC

At the end of the village, you get a glimpse of a view of the Hudson, which as it turns out is quite a bit lower than the village. A steep(ish) windy street will take you down to the river.

My ideal is to live within walking distance of the main street, so that I can walk to do basic shopping. A lot of people feel the same way, which is why real estate is usually more expensive the closer you are to the action. But while driving down the street that runs parallel to Main Street, I was surprised at how unfortunate the houses looked. Not what I expected for a street that practically overlooks the river (practically, not exactly) and is mere feet from the fun. Who knows… maybe that street is built on top of a former toxic waste dump site. I don’t know. But what’s odd is that it’s covered in what I’ll call “Upper Middle Class cars”: the houses are dumpy, but the cars are not. Makes you wonder if it’s that people-with-money are settling for an ugly place just so they can get into a house they can afford.

Want to judge a book by it’s cover? Come sit next to me. Ready? Here we go: the people looked nice. Friendly. Non-racist. Non-money-grubbing, Non-fancy-pants. Non-stupid. Non-helicopter-mom-crazy. Non-white-trash. (Granted, I saw a woman outside the elegant Half Moon Restaurant which overlooks the Hudson who looked like she should be on Jerry Springer, but you can’t win’em all.) I’m not saying the people looked perfect. But they looked like people who just might smile when you smile at them. They just might be cool to have coffee with. They just might help you carry your stroller up the stairs (even though you don’t have stairs anymore because you now live in an awesome Craftsman style house that only has, like, 3 steps).

I want my daughter to get her haircut at Happy Kids Haircuts. I want to go to the Summer Music Series. I want to “say cheese and thank you”. Damnit, I want make pottery!

What’s next for our journey across the small towns surrounding NYC? Moving on further up the Hudson, I think. My friend Neil suggested I check out Jersey. Hmm. Jersey. More on that later. First, I’m doing Westchester. Then maybe some Long Island and some of NY west of the Hudson, and then maybe, just maybe, Jersey.

May I introduce to you… Dobbs Ferry!

Leave a Reply

